Abstract Submission Closed

Thank you for so many submissions!

We are happy and proud to let you know that the conference has attracted an enormous amount of interest from argumentation scholars all over the world. By the time we closed the online submission system we had received 286 complete submissions:

  • 5 thematic panels
  • 72 long papers
  • 209 regular papers (22 belong to thematic panels)

We express our gratitude to you – and the entire community of scholars interested in argumentation – for investing your effort and confidence in an academic start-up the European Conference on Argumentation is. Thanks to you, our 1st conference promises to be a stimulating gathering where the latest argumentation scholarship is presented, discussed and, no doubt, argued about.

Considering the high volume of submissions, we will be able to accept around 50-60% of paper proposals. This means that we will now focus on selecting the very best from the proposals submitted. To this end, we have from the very beginning set up a strict process of double-blind reviewing. The process will be managed by the ECA’s Programme Committee. Each abstract will be anonymously reviewed by at least two members of ECA’s Scientific Panel of more than 50 experts in the field. Reviewers will assess the scholarly quality of each abstract taking into account its relevance to the main theme and perspective of the conference, as specified in the Calls for Papers we have distributed.

Authors of proposals will hear from the Programme Committee by the 1st of December. Meanwhile, if there is any reason for you to withdraw a submission – for instance your plans have changed – please do contact the PC as soon as you can.

We are confident we are working on an exciting conference where the best of the high-quality papers proposed will be presented. We will keep in touch with you and we hope to welcome you to Lisbon in June next year!

Marcin Lewiński and Dima Mohammed

On behalf of the

ECA Lisbon 2015 Organising Committee

ECA Lisbon 2015 Programme Committee

ECA Steering Committee